In the Student Spotlight: July 2, 2020

In the Student Spotlight: July 2, 2020

Kudos to these students

Do you have a spotlight item to share with the NAU community?

E-mail your announcements to, or use our online submission form.

  • Golfers Alyza Flores, Elle Kocourkova and Emma Reyes were recognized as All-American Scholars by the Women’s Golf Coaches Association. To qualify, each golfer must hold a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.5. This is the second time Kocourkova has been honored and the first time for Flores and Reyes.
  • Basketball player Brooks DeBisschop and volleyball player Abby Stomp were honored as Big Sky Conference Scholar-Athletes of the Year. The award honors seniors who excelled in both the classroom and their sport during their final year.
  • The NAU Model United Nation Team was ranked on the Fall 2019 list of Top 75 Honorable Mention Delegations by Best Delegate. The rankings recognize the consistency in the university’s program to prepare their delegates to succeed in committees and a team that bolsters the spirit of Model United Nations.
  • Completing the spring season, NAU Athletics had a total of 46 Big Sky Spring All-Academic honorees. The honored student-athletes bring the department’s year total to 152 All-Academic Awards. Student-athletes are listed below by sport:


  • Aleksandra Chekalina
  • Alyza Flores
  • Elle Kocourkova
  • Emma Reyes

Men’s outdoor track and field

  • Geordie Beamish
  • Carter Bracken
  • Karsen Burke
  • Cade Burks
  • Tyler Day
  • Caleb Easton
  • Blaise Ferro
  • Parker Joens
  • Jacob Kaufman
  • Jack Normand
  • Wil Peralta
  • Beau Prince
  • Theo Quax
  • Ryan Raff
  • Mitchell Small
  • Erick Thompson

Women’s Outdoor Track and Field

  • Jesselyn Bries
  • Alaina Diggs
  • Pipi Eitel
  • Jenna Figueroa
  • Jada Jackson
  • Melanie Loff
  • Jenna McCaffrey
  • Helena McLeod
  • Marissa Milos
  • Bryn Morley
  • Delaney Rasmussen
  • Annika Reiss
  • Abby Riordan
  • Emma Sjolund
  • Laurel Taylor
  • Carly Watts
  • Courtney Weisenberger
  • Madeline Wilson

Men’s tennis

  • Alex Groves
  • Eban Straker-Meads

Women’s tennis

  • Elinor Beazley
  • Mimi Bland
  • Emilie Haakansson
  • Madi Moore
  • Adrianna Sosnowska
  • Chiara Tomasetti