NAU award recipients include Pulitzer Prize winner

Rolled up newspaper

An NAU graduate and Pulitzer Prize-winner from the Washington Post is one of this year’s recipients of the Associated Press-Robert R. Eunson Award, awarded by NAU’s School of Communication.

Matt DeLong, who graduated in 2008 with a bachelor’s degree in political science, was a winner of the 2014 Pulitzer Prize for Public Service for reporting on the National Security Agency surveillance.

ASU professor Dan Gillmor has been awarded the Eunson Distinguished Lecturer in Journalism Award.

The two will be honored at a ceremony scheduled for 7 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 23, in the Liberal Arts building, room 120.

The awards are named after Robert R. Eunson, a 1936 graduate of Arizona State Teachers College, now NAU. He had a distinguished career as a war correspondent and news executive with the Associated Press.

“The Eunson awards are an important tradition for NAU because they honor men and women committed to solid journalism, keeping the audience informed in ways that make us all aware, and perhaps better, citizens,” said Mary Tolan, journalism professor.