In the Spotlight: May 6-10, 2024

Kudos to these faculty, staff, students and programs.     

Do you have a spotlight item to share with the NAU community?     

 E-mail your announcements to, or use our online submission form.     

  • Nico Young and Maggi Congdon were named Big Sky Track Athletes of the Week following impressive performances in the 1,500-meter at the Oxy Invitational. Young was also named the USTFCCCA National Men’s Track Athlete of the Week. Young ran a time of 3:34.56, the third-fastest 1,500-meter time in NCAA history. Congdon placed second in the 1,500-meter after running a time of 4:16.33, the fifth-fastest in NAU history.
  • Nancy Wilburn, professor emerita of accounting, and Bob Kilpatrick, professor emeritus of accounting are being recognized as the 10th and 11th honorary members by the Arizona Society of CPAs at next week’s annual meeting in Phoenix. Wilburn was an early adopter of collaboration as a teaching method in the classroom to help students connect with the material and their peers, the 1994 recipient of the Arizona CPA Foundation for Education & Innovation’s Excellence in Teaching Award and two-time winner of the Foundation’s Education Innovation Award. Kilpatrick helped shape the accounting education that helped students be successful with the CPA exam by modernizing curriculum and incorporating feedback from professionals; he is the 2009 recipient of the Arizona CPA Foundation for Education & Innovation’s Excellence in Teaching Award and served on the foundation’s board and scholarship selection committee for nine years.
  • University Marketing received four awards at the 2024 Hermes Creative Awards for creative excellence in marketing and communications:
  • A dozen students were given AY 2023-24 Supplemental Instruction (SI) Excellence in Leadership Awards. SI Excellence in Leadership awards recognize SI Leaders/AmeriCorps Members’ excellence in leadership while working with students, faculty, staff and SI Leader peers—and highlights outstanding work in Leadership. Supplemental Instruction Excellence in Leadership award recipients:
    • Guillermo Vasquez
    • Ashley Kalscheur
    • Kalysta Nash
    • Vanessa Wedra
    • Saige Holloway
    • Breanna Brewer

Supplemental Instruction Excellence in Servant Leadership awards recipient:

    • Arielle Condes

Supplemental Instruction Excellence in Generational Leadership awards recipients:

    • Gabrielle Siros
    • Jay Dawson


NAU Communications