Writing prize goes to three undergraduates

Three students from the College of Engineering and Natural Sciences have won this year’s Louis Agassiz Prize for Writing Excellence.

Michael Collins, a biology major, won first prize of $1,500. Abraham Feinberg, a physiology major won second prize, $1,000, and environmental science major Ben Williams won third prize, $500. The three were selected from more than 40 essays submitted from across campus.

The Louis Agassiz Prize is awarded annually to the winner of an essay competition for undergraduates. Prize winners were selected by an eight-person editorial board representing both the sciences and the humanities. It included alumni and faculty members.

This year’s topic was “The Limits of Scientific Knowledge,” and essays were judged on originality of ideas, persuasiveness, clarity and elegance of language.

The winning essays can be found online.