Back to class: NAU faculty, staff join 2018-19 President’s University Leadership Program

participant group photo

With the start of the new school year at Northern Arizona University comes the start of the 2018-19 President’s University Leadership Program, bringing together university staff and faculty from all levels to learn about the future of leadership in higher education and supporting members’ pursuits of opportunities in the field. The program kicks-off in September with a two-day retreat at The Hilton Squaw Peak Resort in Phoenix, with subsequent sessions held once a month on campus October through May.

Throughout the program, participants will gain better leadership skills and understanding of the Arizona university system. Topics receiving special focus in Arizona context include the purpose and functions of major university departments, decision-making processes throughout the university, the importance of an institutional message and strategic planning and budgeting that benefits each department as well as the university as a whole. This fall’s group will be the seventh class at NAU.

Participants are:

  • Emily Allen, assistant vice president for community relations, Office of the President
  • Kyle Cawood, system analyst team lead, ITS Enterprise
  • Cole Charlebois, fiscal operations manager, NAU Online
  • Amanda Cornelius, director of operations & compliance, Office of Scholarships/Financial Aid
  • Maria DeCabooter, social media manager, NAU Communications
  • Teresa Delevcchio, academic advisor, Biological Sciences
  • Evin Deschamps, director, Academic Success Center
  • Glenn Edgerton, associate clinical professor, Graduate Athletic Training Program
  • Andrea Gonzalez, program manager, Arizona GEAR UP
  • Sean Gregory, assistant professor, Politics and International Affairs
  • Andrew Iacona, PD&C project manager, Campus Operations
  • Karletta Jones, senior internal auditor, Internal Audit
  • Benjamin Keeler, director of operations, CHS-Medical Services
  • Roy St.Laurent, professor, executive director academic chairs council, Mathematics & Statistics
  • Gabriel Montano, professor and TBD materials center director, Chemistry & Biochemistry
  • Chris Mott, UAO director of processing, EMSA
  • Kiisa Nishikawa, Regents’ professor and director, Biological Sciences
  • Grace Okoli, assistant clinical professor, COE: Educational Leadership
  • Patricia Pohl, professor and chair, Department of Physical Therapy & Athletic Training
  • Brian Rackham, director, Media Innovations Center/assistant professor of practice, School of Communication
  • Pam Ramos, director of development, W. A. Franke College of Business
  • Dawn Rivas, associate director of nursing and assistant clinical professor, School of Nursing
  • Joey Ruiz, program director, Student Affairs Mentoring
  • Cristy Salanga, technology transfer, Coordinator/Patent Manager, Vice President for Research
  • Andrew See, head of user services, Cline Library
  • John Tingerthal, associate professor and associate chair, Construction Management & Environmental Engineering
  • Elias Villarreal, chair, Physician Assistant Studies
  • Ian Wischmeier, associate registrar, Registrar Office
  • David Van Ness, senior lecturer, School of Art
Cheyenne Jarrette