In the Student Spotlight: May 4, 2018

Kudos to these students

Do you have a spotlight item to share with the NAU community?

E-mail your announcements to, or use our online submission form.CSD winning teams since 2010

  • Northern Arizona University’s Communication Sciences and Disorders (CSD) team won the Praxis Bowl for the second year in a row. Kayla Wood, Shea Millan, Naomi Rhodes and Maddie Easley competed against other CSD graduate programs from ASU, University of Arizona, Midwestern University and A. T. Still University.
  • Olivia Brown, Racquel Carpenter, Madison Martz, Brian Hamilton, Tarren Petty, Jacqueline Torpy, Brook Cayo, Sabine von Lersner, Hank Kollar, Keven Benavente, Mitchell Feldman and Taryn Wigington were selected as Spring 2018 SI Excellence in Leadership Award recipients. These students were awarded for their professionalism, work ethic, student-to-student engagement, strategic questioning, outreach and facilitation of program development.
  • The team of Jacks Online mentors, consisting of Kayla Bell, James Devlin, Melissa Sottosanti, Tammie Vaughn and Lizette Williams, received the inaugural Northern Arizona University Student Employee Team of the Year award from NAU Career Development. The team’s case for nominating the entire team prompted the creation of the award category which will continue to be available for future team award nominations.2017-18 Student Employee of the Year winner
  • Caitlyn Ratliff was awarded the 2017-18 Student Employee of the Year award by NAU Career Development’s student-employee programs. Ratliff is a student manager, lifeguard and lifeguard instructor at the Wall Aquatic Center. She was selected for her intercultural fluency and exemplary teamwork, leadership and problem-solving skills.