In the Spotlight: Nov. 9, 2017

Kudos to these faculty and staff

Do you have a spotlight item to share with the NAU community?

E-mail your announcements to, or use our online submission form.

  • Lt. Col. Mark Stone (right) receiving 2017 Professor of Military Science of the Year Award from Christopher Hughes (left)

    Mark Stone, NAU’s lieutenant colonel, was recognized by the Commanding General of United States Army Cadet Command as the 2017 Professor of Military Science of the Year. Major Gen. Christopher Hughes presented the award at a ceremony in Fort Knox, Kentucky, on Sept. 26. Stone was selected from among the 275programs located at colleges and universities throughout the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and Guam. This distinction follows the programs selection as the 2016 Best Large ROTC Program in 5th Brigade, a region that is comprised of Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas, Utah and Wyoming.

  • Laura L. Camden, associate professor of photojournalism in the School of Communication, presented and facilitated a roundtable conversation on study abroad programming titled “Getting Students Out of the Classroom.” Camden presented and facilitated this conversation in Lake Tahoe, California at the Society for Photographic Education’s Tahoe CoLab conference last week. Camden has led study abroad programs for NAU students in India, Australia, Spain and Cuba.
  • Paul W. Jagodzinski, dean of the College of Engineering, Forestry & Natural Sciences and professor in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, was re-elected to the board of directors of the American Chemical Society (ACS), the world’s largest scientific society. He will begin a three-year term on the board Jan. 1 as director of District VI, which consists of members assigned to or residing in local sections with headquarters in Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, Washington and Wyoming. In addition, those members who are not assigned to local sections who have addresses in Arizona, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon and Washington; in the provinces of Alberta, Columbia and Saskatchewan; and in the extra-provincial territories of Canada also are part of District VI.