In the Spotlight: Nov. 15, 2013

Kudos to these faculty, staff and students

Do you have a spotlight item to share with the NAU community?

E-mail your announcements to, or use our online submission form.

  • Fred Hurst, senior vice president for Extended Campuses, has been honored with the Richard Jonsen Award by the WICHE Cooperative for Educational Technologies. The award is given annually to a WCET member whose career has been committed to improving postsecondary educational programs and services through innovative uses of technology as well as for exceptional service to WCET.
  • Eric Otenyo, professor of politics and international affairs, was appointed to the editorial board of the Academic Journal of Research in Economics and Management.
  • Biology professor Linn Montgomery is hosting the 45th annual meeting of the Desert Fishes Council Nov. 20-24. The council is an international organization that preserves the biological integrity of desert aquatic ecosystems and their associated life forms.Since 2010, the council has been working with schoolchildren to engage them in desert fishes of their area. This year, it has been working with students from Haven Montessori in Flagstaff, who are learning about the plight of desert fishes, specifically Arizona’s native fish. The students have been sewing replicas of native fish to be strung from mobiles and displayed during the council’s annual meeting.
  • Dennis C. Tanner and William R. Culbertson, professors of health sciences, have been named honorary faculty members of the Speech Therapy Department, Faculty of Rehabilitation for Tehran University of Medical Sciences in Iran.
  • The NAU Model United Nations team recently earned the Distinguished Delegation award during a conference at the University of California at Santa Barbara. The team of 27 students placed higher than teams from Stanford, USC, UCLA, the University of Arizona and Arizona State University. Four students also earned individual honors at the conference. Claire Bergstresser, an undergraduate double majoring in criminology and criminal justice, and philosophy, politics and law, and John Kelly, a political science major, received Outstanding Delegate awards. Greg Goekler, political science major, and Greg Wilson, a double major in political science and international affairs, each earned Distinguished Delegate awards.