In the Spotlight: June 8, 2018

Kudos to these staff and faculty

Do you have a spotlight item to share with the NAU community?

E-mail your announcements to, or use our online submission form.

  • Nadine Barlow, chair of the Department of Physics and Astronomy, co-authored “Nuclear Nonsolution,” an article published in Aerospace America. The article explains the reality of detonating a nuclear bomb as a means of protecting Earth from an oncoming asteroid or comet. Barlow also is co-author of “Warming Early Mars by Impact Degassing of Reduced Greenhouse Gases,” an abstract submitted to the European Planetary Science Congress, to be held Sept. 16-21 in Berlin.
  • Andrew McNeill and David Trilling of the Department of Physics and Astronomy co-authored “Taxonomy and Light-Curve Data of 1000 Serendipitously Observed Main-Belt Asteroids.” Trilling also was the lead author on the “Detectability of Planet X with LSST” in The Astronomical Journal. The paper explores how effective LSST is as a search platform for two possible planets that have been thought to explain the orbital distribution of distant Kuiper Belt objects.
  • NAU’s study abroad program in Zambia has received the Maxwell-Lutz Community Impact Award for the project “Promoting Education and Elephants in a rural Zumbian Community.” The award funds joint CEFNS and SBS projects that improve environmental sustainability. As a result, professors Faith Walker and Carol Chambers will be teaching a wildlife conservation and management course to biology and forestry students in Zambia this month, promoting a local K-12 school with books and materials, while working to reduce elephant-human conflict.
  • Astronomy professor Chad Trujillo authored “The Reactivation and Nucleus Characterization of Main-Belt Comet 358P/PANSTARRS (P/2012 T1).” The publication covers observations made using the Gemini South telescope from July to December 2017.
  • Chemistry professor Gabriel Montano was selected to receive the Dr. William Yslas Velez: Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) Award. This award comes from the Victoria Foundation, part of the American Association for Hispanics in Higher Education. The awards breakfast will be held on Sept. 5 at the Arizona Biltmore Resort in Phoenix.
  • Paul Lenze, Jr. with students
    Paul Lenze, Jr. teaching a class

    Politics and international affairs professor Paul Lenze, Jr. represented NAU at the Beijing International Studies University (BISU), teaching about American politics and U.S. foreign policy. Director Hou Yu Xiang invited Lenze to attend a Middle East Studies conference at BISU in October. He also was asked to give a series of five lectures on issues of interest to America and China.

  • Women’s tennis assistant coach Ewa Bogusz was named Mountain Region Assistant Coach of the Year by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association. Bogusz helped lead the Jacks to an undefeated home and conference record and the Big Sky women’s tennis regular season championship title.
  • Fransisco Villa was accepted into the 2018 USDA-HIS E. Kika De La Garza Science Fellowship Program. The fellowship will allow Villa to partner and collaborate with leading scientists from the USDA-Agricultural Research Service or USDA-Natural Resources Conservation Service.
  • NAU’s Hotel and Restaurant Management program was ranked No. 4 in the nation for Best Online Bachelors in Hotel and Restaurant Management Programs. mentions that NAU’s program has been recognized by the Accreditation Commission for Programs In Hospitality Administration, a distinction that is held by less than 20 percent of hospitality programs.
  • group photo of NAU faculty and students
    NAU faculty and students in Bogor, Indonesia

    The Center for International Forestry Research (CIFOR) in Bogor, Indonesia held an NAU Day with a cohort from the School of Forestry, including faculty members Paul Beier, Pete Fulé, Rich Hofstetter, Yeon-Su Kim and Kristin Waring* as well as recently graduated Indonesian master’s students Andika Putraditama and Dyah Puspitaloka. Current students Ernawati Apriani, Diny Hartiningtias, Lely Puspitasari*, Thalita Christiani, Pingkan Sumampow and Shafia Zahra presented to a group of CIFOR staff and USAID representatives.

    *Indicates those who couldn’t be present.



Cheyenne Jarrette