In the Spotlight: May 26, 2010

Kudos to these faculty, staff and students

Do you have a spotlight item to share with the NAU community?

E-mail your announcements to, or use our online submission form.

  • Zachary Smith, a Regents’ Professor in Politics and International Affairs, was named to the 2010 editorial advisory board ofEnvironmental Practice, the journal of the National Association of Environmental Professionals. Over the course of his one-year commitment, Smith is asked to solicit two manuscripts to be subject to the journal’s peer-review process, write one non-reviewed manuscript and conduct double-blind peer reviews.
  • nominations
    Emily Manone displays her 2010 Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant Award, surrounded by her Modern Language department nominators, Yuly Asencion Delaney, left, and Cecilia Ojeda and her department chair, Joe Collentine.

    The NAU Faculty Development Program and Graduate College awarded three graduate students with 2010 Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant Awards at a reception on April 26.

    • Kateryna Boyce works with faculty in the psychology department in support of undergraduate classes. Boyce is described as someone who cares deeply about student learning and whose support has been key to their success. As a teaching assistant in classrooms and labs, Boyce said she tries to convey committed interest in both the material being represented as well as in each student’s success.
    • Emily Manone works with students in introductory Spanish classes. Faculty consider her a creative and resourceful teacher who involves all her students in the learning experience. Manone said one hallmark of her approach to working with undergraduates is to model motivation, passion and challenge.
    • Janelle Runberg, a teaching assistant in the Biology 181 lab, is lauded for her ability to explain complex material. Runberg said she has great enthusiasm for biology, and wants her students to succeed in science.
    • Award nominees included Andrew Allen and Samuel Gilmore in chemistry; David Cain in creative writing; Rachel Constance and Martin Kalb in history; Cui Lang and Don Miller in applied linguistics; Laura Merino in Spanish; and Amanda Smith and Lydia Wielgus in applied criminology.