Six faculty appointed to Ombuds program

Six faculty members have been appointed as the inaugural group of new faculty ombuds, announced Liz Grobsmith, provost and vice president for Academic Affairs.

The six are Matt Casado of the School of Hotel and Restaurant Management, Laurie Dickson of the Department of Psychology, Jack Dustman of the College of Business Administration, Lynn Jones of the Department of Criminal Justice, Catherine Medina of the Department of Educational Specialties, and Lon Owen of the Department of Biological Sciences.

These six faculty members, along with program coordinator Gary Buckley, will constitute NAU’s Faculty Ombuds Program cadre of facilitators.

A little over a year in planning and development, the Faculty Ombuds Program will provide informal and confidential conflict resolution options to members of NAU’s faculty.

Grobsmith said she hopes the program will add significantly to the tools available to faculty and academic administrators for addressing faculty issues, concerns and work-related problems.

For information about accessing the services of the Faculty Ombuds Program, call (928) 523-8767.