Seven new Regents’ professors showcase NAU’s research and scholarly excellence

Regents' professors

At President Rita Cheng’s recommendation, the Arizona Board of Regents on Thursday approved seven Northern Arizona University professors to be promoted to Regents’ professor.

The professors are Scott Goetz, School of Informatics, Computing, and Cyber Systems; Jani Ingram, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry; Björn Krondorfer, Department of Comparative Cultural Studies; Yiqi Luo, Department of Biological Sciences; Michelle Mack, Department of Biological Sciences; Ted Schuur, Department of Biological Sciences; and Miguel José Yacamán, Department of Applied Physics and Materials Sciences.

Nominees must be full professors, have outstanding achievements and be distinguished nationally and internationally in their fields. Nominations are submitted by tenured or tenure-eligible NAU faculty members, and a representative faculty committee conducts a rigorous evaluation of all nominations before providing recommendations to the Provost and President. As stipulated by ABOR policy, the number of Regents’ professors at a university at any one time cannot exceed 3 percent of the total number of tenured and tenure-track faculty.

“These seven professors are among the elite in their fields and represent the breadth and depth of groundbreaking research and scholarship that happens at NAU,” Cheng said. “These professors are studying the critical issues of our world, ranging from the far-reaching effects of climate change to the continued impacts of the Holocaust to cancer prevention among Native Americans. They are all highly deserving of this honor.”

Professor Scott GoetzScott Goetz, School of Informatics, Computing, and Cyber Systems

Goetz recently was recognized as one of the most highly cited researchers in the world, an indicator of a long career of impactful research. His work, which has been funded by the U.S. Department of Defense and the National Science Foundation, uses satellite remote sensing research to study the effects of a changing climate. He is the science lead of NASA’s Arctic Boreal Vulnerability Experiment and deputy PI of NASA’s Global Ecosystem Dynamics Investigation.

Jani Ingram, Department of Chemistry and BiochemistryJani Ingram

Ingram, the lead principal investigator of the Partnership for Native American Cancer Prevention, investigates environmental contaminants on Navajo Nation lands and their impacts on health. In addition to her research, which has been funded by multiple grants from the National Institutes of Health and the National Science Foundation, she has made a priority of recruiting Indigenous students and students from other groups underrepresented in STEM into her research.

Björn KrondorferBjörn Krondorfer, Department of Comparative Cultural Studies

Krondorfer, the director of the Martin-Springer Institute, studies religion, gender and culture and post-Holocaust reconciliation; his scholarship helped define the field of critical men’s studies in religion. He has presented his research throughout the world and is chair of the Consortium of Higher Education Centers for Holocaust, Genocide, and Human Rights Studies. He has facilitated a number of partnerships, both locally and globally, to further conversations about the Holocaust and religious studies.

Yiqu Luo

Yiqi Luo, Department of Biological Sciences

Luo was a highly cited researcher in 2020, putting him in the top 1 percent in his field for the year. He has received multiple grants from the NSF to study how global climate change alters the structure and function of terrestrial ecosystems and how those ecosystems regulate climate change. He has been elected a fellow for the Ecological Society of America, the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the American Geophysical Union.

Professor Michelle Mack

Michelle Mack, Department of Biological Sciences

Mack, a recognized leader in plant and ecosystem ecology, studies the impacts of increasing disturbances, such as wildfires, on plant growth and soil carbon storage in boreal forests, the Arctic tundra and in thawing permafrost soils. She also studies the effects of climate change on plants in warmer ecosystems like Costa Rica, Panama and South Africa. She is a fellow of the Ecological Society of America and author or co-author of nearly 400 publications, with more than 18,000 citations.


Ted SchuurTed Schuur, Department of Biological Sciences

Schuur is the lead investigator for the international Permafrost Carbon Network; his research focuses on the effects to the Arctic system as the Earth warms and how natural ecosystems interact with human emissions. He was one of 101 scientists selected to produce a global report examining the effects of climate for the UN’s Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change and is a fellow in the American Geophysical Union. He is the author or co-author of almost 500 publications.

MIguel Jose YacamanMiguel José Yacamán, Department of Applied Physics and Materials Sciences.

Yacamán is a world-renowned expert in using electron microscopy to study the properties of materials at the atomic level and developing methods to study nanoparticles and 2D materials. He has received the Guggenheim Fellowship and the Robert Franklin Mehl Award of The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society. He has authored or co-authored more than 500 publications.


Regents Professors at NAU
Russell P. Balda, Biological Sciences (retired)
J. Dale Nations, Geology (retired)
William J. Roosen, History (retired)
Stanley S. Beus, Geology (retired)
Lawrence M. Perko, Mathematics (retired)
Monte M. Poen, History (retired)
Gina P. Cantoni, Bilingual/Multicultural Ed. (retired)
Lloyd Mogenson, Biological Sciences (retired)
James Sexton, Anthropology (retired)
Dickson A. Mungazi, Education (retired)
Peter W. Price, Biological Sciences (retired)
William W. Covington, Forestry
Robert T. Trotter, Anthropology
Thomas G. Whitham, Biological Sciences
Graydon Lenn Berlin, Geography and Public Planning (retired)
Dean W. Blinn, Biological Sciences (retired)
Donald V. Bendel, Fine Arts – Ceramics (retired)
Curtis M. Hinsley, History (retired)
Michael Eastman, Chemistry (retired)
Jill Dubisch, Anthropology (retired)
Stan Lindstedt, Biological Sciences (retired)
Michael Wagner, Forestry (retired)
Douglas Biber, English 2000-01
Thomas McPoil, Physical Therapy (retired)
Zachary Smith, Political Science
Karen VanWinkle-Swift, Biological Sciences (retired)
Paul Keim, Biological Sciences
Kiisa Nishikawa, Biological Sciences
Jim Simmerman, English (retired)
Lee Drickamer, Biological Sciences (retired)
Raymond Michalowski, Criminal Justice
William Grabe, English (retired)
Paul Beier, School of Forestry
Edith Copley, School of Music
Darrell Kaufman, Geology
Bruce Hungate, Biological Sciences
Nancy Johnson, Biological Sciences
Julie Baldwin, Health Sciences
Peter Fulé, Forestry
Andrew Richardson, SICCS

NAU Communications