Nominations for NAU’s President’s Diversity Awards being accepted

Nominations for the President’s Diversity Awards are now being accepted. Awards are given by each of NAU’s five diversity commissions: the Commission on Ethnic Diversity (CED), the Commission on the Status of Women (CSW), the Commission for Native Americans (CNA), the Commission on Disability Access and Design (CDAD) and the LGBTQIA Commission. These awards recognize work done to foster and improve diversity across campus and will be presented at the President’s Diversity Awards event from 6-8 p.m. on April 30.

Once a year, these awards bring together the individuals devoted to diversity and inclusion efforts on campus to celebrate and recognize the accomplishments and extraordinary work they achieve. Individuals can be nominated by NAU staff, faculty and students. Specific requirements for each award can be found listed on the commission’s website provided in the links below.

The CED Diversity Award recognizes programs, departments, groups or individuals who have significantly contributed to enhancing ethnic diversity. CED works to create an environment that welcomes and facilitates retention, education and recruitment of ethnically diverse faculty, staff and students. Three awards are presented annually. Nominations are due at 5 p.m. on Feb. 24.

The CSW Outstanding Achievement and Contribution Award recognizes faculty, staff, students and groups/organizations who have contributed significantly to the advancement of women. CSW addresses women’s issues concerning university policies, practices and programs to ensure gender equity, parity and inclusivity. Four awards are presented annually. Nominations are due by 5 p.m. on Feb. 17.

The Cal Sicewa Award recognizes faculty, staff and students who have demonstrated outstanding services to Indigenous communities. The CNA considers, evaluates and analyzes all matters pertaining to Native Americans at NAU. Four awards are presented annually. Nominations are due by 11:45 p.m. on March 9.

The CDAD Leadership Award recognizes faculty, staff, students, departments, organizations or community members who have made outstanding contributions to disability access and design. Their contributions promote equal access to individuals with disabilities and support their professional development. Nominations are due by 5:30 p.m. on March 4.

The LGBTQIA Diversity Award recognizes faculty, staff, students and allies who have contributed to making NAU a better place for the LGBTQIA community. The LGBTQIA Commission promotes acceptance of LGBTQIA diversity that fosters respect and appreciation of each person. Four awards are presented annually. The Ally of the Year award is presented a second time at the May Rainbow Convocation ceremony. Nominations are due by 11:45 p.m. on Feb. 5.