Annual NAU President’s Diversity Award recipients announced

Diversity Awards

The Northern Arizona University President’s Diversity Award recipients have been announced for the 2020-21 academic year. These awards are presented by the Center for University Access and Inclusion and the Office of the President.

The annual awards recognize the work of people and organizations who support and further diversity, equity and inclusion at the university. This year’s awards celebration will be postponed to the fall semester to anticipate the possibility of an in-person event.

This year’s award winners are:

Commission for Native Americans

  • Staff Award: Bekka Alvarado, manager, University Admissions, Native American & Diversity Recruitment
  • Student Award: Sara Johannteburns, undergraduate student, Indian Country Criminal Justice major, Applied Indigenous Studies
  • Faculty Award: Manley Begay, professor, Applied Indigenous Studies
  • Alumni Award: Kathleen Frank, program manager, W. A. Franke College of Business, Center for American Indian Economic Development, Economic Policy Institute

Commission on Disability Access and Design

  • Faculty Award: Christine Lemley, professor, Educational Specialties
  • Student Award: Michael Holm, master’s student, Educational Leadership
  • Staff Award: Sean Kugler, digital accessibility analyst, Disability Resources
  • Staff Award: Sarah Lipsey, technical training analyst, Information Technology Services

Commission on Ethnic Diversity

  • Organization Award: Interdisciplinary Global Programs, Center for International Education

Commission on the Status of Women

  • Faculty Award: Meredith Heller, senior lecturer, Women’s and Gender Studies
  • Staff Award: Jessy Zukosky, administrative services assistant, Women’s and Gender Studies
  • Project Award: Ross Altenbaugh,director, Flagstaff Shelter Services
  • Student Award: Shane Canitz, graduate student, Clinical Mental Health Counseling Master’s Program, Center for University Access and Inclusion

LGBTQIA Commission

  • Staff Award: Martin Tease, social and cultural support services coordinator, Office of Inclusion: Multicultural and LGBTQIA Student Services
  • Faculty Award: Heather Martel, associate professor, History
  • Ally of the Year: Felicia Fiedler, community library specialist, Flagstaff Community Library