President receives 79 proposals for Innovation Fund

A total of 79 proposals have been submitted to NAU President John Haeger in response to his call for “transformative” ideas or programs that could be eligible for up to $1 million in one-time support from a new President’s Innovation Fund.

The list of proposals represent submissions from more than 125 individuals from throughout campus, with the majority coming from academic areas.

Haeger established the President’s Innovation Fund in the fall to solicit innovation in academic programs, business processes and university governance. The deadline for submissions was Jan. 15, and a final report is expected by mid-February.

The proposals are being reviewed by Haeger and Provost Liz Grobsmith, as well as by a subcommittee of the Strategic Planning and Budget Council. Members include: Sarah Bickel, associate vice president for Student Affairs; Mason Gerety, vice president for University Advancement; Fred Hurst, vice president for Extended Campuses; Rich Lei, past president of the Faculty Senate and professor in the School of Communication; Leslie Schulz, executive dean of the College of Health and Human Services; Maribeth Watwood, chair of the Department of Biological Sciences; and Pat Haeuser, vice president for Planning, Budget and Institutional Research.