President Haeger receives prestigious Town Hall honor

John Haeger

Northern Arizona University President John Haeger has been selected as the 2013 recipient of the prestigious Shirley Agnos Legacy Award from the Arizona Town Hall.

“Dr. Haeger has a long and dedicated record of working to improve our state and the lives of our citizens and a proven record of creating consensus positions from differing points of view,” said Town Hall President Tara Jackson. “He is an active advocate on behalf of statewide issues, is highly respected and of the highest integrity.”

Haeger will accept the award during a lunch program Nov. 5 at the Grand Canyon.

“To be presented this award by the Arizona Town Hall, an organization deeply connected with the community, and to be recognized along with the notable previous winners, is truly an honor,” Haeger said after Thursday afternoon’s announcement.

Former U.S. Rep Gabrielle Giffords and her husband, Capt. Mark Kelly, were last year’s recipients. Other winners include consulting psychologist Jamie Matanovich, 2011; Tucson Medical Center President Emeritus Don Shropshire, 2010; former Scottsdale Community College President Art DeCabooter, 2009; and businessperson/community activist Katie Dusenberry, 2008.

The Legacy Award was established in 2007 to recognize Shirley Agnos after her retirement from 46 years of service to the Arizona Town Hall.