Nominations sought for President’s Distinguished Teaching Fellows Award

President Rita Cheng is seeking nominations of faculty members from all NAU campuses and disciplines for the President’s Distinguished Teaching Fellows.

The award identifies teaching scholars whose student-related activities represent the highest levels of excellence and who make a significant impact on learning through departmental and campus engagement.

Appointed for three years, fellows receive both a $5,000 stipend and $5,000 in professional development funding for teaching-related endeavors each year of their term.

Fellows serve as leadership board members of the NAU Teaching Academy, which was created to recognize, support and reward effective teaching. The Teaching Academy is comprised of faculty members designated as their college teacher of the year.

Two optional nomination orientation sessions will be held from 11:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 1 and Wednesday, Oct. 7, in the Faculty Professional Development Program Teaching Commons, Cline Library, room 169. Those who plan to submit nominations for this award are invited to attend one of these orientation sessions.

Nominations are due to the Office of the Provost no later than Friday, October 30, 2015. A description of the fellowship and nomination process is available on the provost’s web site.