Nominations sought for Distinguished Teaching Fellows Award

President John Haeger and Provost Liz Grobsmith are seeking nominations for the President’s Distinguished Teaching Fellows for 2011.

The award identifies teaching scholars whose student-related activities represent the highest levels of excellence and who make a significant impact on undergraduate learning through departmental and campus engagement.

“Northern Arizona University’s history is deeply rooted in education and a commitment to being a learning-centered institution,” Haeger said. “The President’s Distinguished Teaching Fellows are recognized as leaders who exemplify the university’s reputation for excellence through enrichment of student learning and success.”

Appointed for three years, fellows receive both a $5,000 stipend and $5,000 in professional development funding for teaching-related endeavors each year of their term.

Fellows serve as leadership board members of the NAU Teaching Academy, which was created to recognize, support and reward effective teaching. The Teaching Academy is comprised of faculty members designated as their college teacher of the year.

“There is great benefit to the campus in recognizing professors whose teaching and leadership impacts our commitment to student learning,” Grobsmith said. “We hold them in the highest regard, and the fellows inspire us with their classroom and campus leadership.”

The deadline for the President’s Distinguished Teaching Fellow nominations is Nov. 30. For information, visit the Office of the Provost’s website.