Nominations sought for Distinguished Teaching Fellows Award

President Rita Cheng and Provost Laura Huenneke are seeking nominations for the President’s Distinguished Teaching Fellows.

The award identifies teaching scholars whose student-related activities represent the highest levels of excellence and who make a significant impact on undergraduate learning through departmental and campus engagement.

Appointed for three years, fellows receive both a $5,000 stipend and $5,000 in professional development funding for teaching-related endeavors each year of their term. They also have the opportunity to teach a “dream course” during their fellowship.

Fellows serve as leadership board members of the NAU Teaching Academy, which was created to recognize, support and reward effective teaching. The Teaching Academy is comprised of faculty members designated as their college teacher of the year.

The deadline for the President’s Distinguished Teaching Fellow nominations is Friday, Dec. 5. A nomination form will be available here.