University Leadership Program kicks off new year

University Leadership Program class of 2016-17

Each year, a select group of Northern Arizona University faculty and staff participate in a leadership development program that brings together partners from all over campus to help prepare the next generation of higher education leaders.

The University Leadership Program kicked off the year with its new class earlier this month. The participants represent a wide variety of populations on campus.

Participants explore leadership skills, discuss challenges facing the university and higher education across the nation and gain an understanding of how the Arizona university system functions. Other topics will include strategic planning and budgeting and how both serve to advance the overall mission of NAU.

The program is aimed at identifying, informing and investing in future university leaders and building networks of colleagues. It kicks off with a two-day retreat in Sedona, followed by daylong sessions held on campus on one Friday each month through April. A celebration and dinner concludes the program in May.

Participants in the 2016-17 University Leadership Program include:

  • Shadow Armfield, Assoicate Professor of Educational Technology, COE: Educational Specialties
  • Valerie Barret, Program Coordinator, Space Management
  • Debra Edgerton, Senior Lecturer and Interim Coordinator for Foundations, CAL: School of Art
  • Diana Elder, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs/Associate Professor, CEFNS: SESES
  • Heidi Feigenbaum, Associate Professor, CEFNS: Mechanical Engineering
  • Pam Fleece, Director, Human Resources Information Systems
  • Missy Freshour, Police Commander, NAU PD
  • Kevin Gemoets, Assistant Director, EMSA: Fraternity and Soroity Life
  • Sharon Gooding, Clinical Assistant Professor, COE: Educational Leadership
  • Scott Halle, Material Safety Manager, Facility Services: Engineer & Inspect
  • Susan Johnstad, Associate Vice President, EC: Statewide and Online Programs
  • Carlene Klein, Fiscal Operations Manager, SBS: Dean’s Office
  • Chris Lanterman, Sr. Lecturer, COE: Educational Specialties
  • Robin Long, Manager, CCC2NAU
  • Amanda Loveless, Equal Opportunity Specialist, Sr., Office of Equity and Access
  • John Masserini, Associate Dean/Professor, Graduate College/CAL: School of Music
  • Trey McCallie, Web Tech Team Lead, ITS
  • Becky McGaugh, Executive Director, Purchasing
  • Barbara Mendez, Academic Advisor, Extended Campuses
  • Tracye Moore, Chair, CHHS: Department of Dental Hygiene
  • Karen Mueller, Professor, CHHS: Physical Therapy & Athletic Training
  • Steve Palmer, Associate Dean, CHHS
  • Pamela Powell, Chair, COE: Department of Teaching & Learning
  • Peter Runge, Head, Special Collections and Archives, Cline Library
  • Julie Ryan, Executive Director, Campus Health Services
  • Margot Saltonstall, Director of Analytics and Assessment, VP EMSA
  • Pamela Stetina, Clinical Professor, CHHS: School of Nursing
  • Kevin Trainor, Associate Dean, FCB
  • Michael Zimmer, Information Security Analyst, Sr., ITS