NAU student leaders selected for fellowship program


Northern Arizona University recently announced this year’s inaugural cohort of Presidential Leadership Fellows—a new educational program for outstanding students on the mountain campus.

The Presidential Leadership Fellows program equips student leaders with the skills and knowledge to make meaningful contributions to the university, local and global communities. Focused on the development of professional skills and personal competencies across a variety of themes, fellows engage in active, collaborative learning. In addition, fellows interact with university leaders, including President Rita Cheng, to gain a better understanding of the institution’s mission, values, organizational structure and decision-making process.

The program follows a year-long cohort model where twenty students, with a variety of leadership capacities and academic disciplines, are hand-picked following faculty and staff nominations. The fellows represent NAU for the academic year, building their knowledge base while gaining invaluable experience.

The students in this year’s cohort are:

  • Nicole Acquaviva
  • Tristan Aisporna
  • Ronald Allen
  • LaShae Brown
  • Tylor Brown
  • Barbara Ann Heerkens
  • Jessica Howard
  • Samantha Jones
  • Tristen Kocher
  • Isabella McCormick
  • Ruby Meraz
  • Kali Morris
  • Aria Ottmueller
  • Ashley Peddie
  • Carlton Robbins
  • Ashley Sergent
  • Celestine Taieb
  • Austin Van Doren
  • Kayden Windsor
  • Lynnae Zgurich
NAU Communications