In the Student Spotlight: March 15, 2019

Kudos to these students

Do you have a spotlight item to share with the NAU community?

E-mail your announcements to, or use our online submission form.

  • In addition to being a member of the All-Big Sky Third Team, men’s basketball player Bernie Andre is one of three players in NAU history to be named the 2018-19 Big Sky Conference Co-Newcomer of the Year. Andre leads NAU with a 13.6 points-per-game scoring average and 8.4 rebounds per contest, which ranks third overall among Big Sky Leaders.
  • Men’s basketball player Brooks DeBisschop was named as a member of the 2018-19 Google Cloud Academic All-American Third Team. Members are selected based on their combined performance on the court and in the classroom. DeBisschop leads the Lumberjacks with a .582 shooting percentage from the field and has a GPA of 3.96.
  • Students from the Model United Nations Club
    Students of NAU’s Model United Nations club.

    recently organized and hosted the AXEMUN
    conference at NAU. University teams from Arizona and California attended the two-day event and debated issues of international politics. Hosting University of California Merced and Embry Riddle, the delegates from the three schools worked together to solve the issue of Increased Polarization on Social Media.

  • Women’s basketball player Kaleigh Paplow was voted to the All-Big Sky Third Team. Paplow is NAU’s team leader in points, rebounds, assists and steals and ranks in the Big Sky’s top 10 in points, rebounds and steals. In Monday’s game against Sacramento State, Paplow scored a season-best of 27 points.
  • NAU students studying Japanese recently met with the Japanese Olympic swim team who were on campus training to practice communicating. Professor Okuno of Waseda University, the team’s coach, lectured the NAU students in Japanese about what it means to be a swimmer, then the athletes and students were able to communicate one-on-one in between training.
  • The Arizona State Association of Physician Assistants
    ASAPA award winners.

    (ASAPA) Spring CME Conference occurred this past week, and NAU students and teams took home multiple awards.

    • In the poster competition, Skyler Buck took first place and Jessica Oliverson took home the award for honorable mention. The winning posters, along with all the others, will be on display in the Phoenix Biomedical Campus for the rest of the year.
    • Two teams also completed in the ASAPA Challenge Bowl: Team A was made up of Ivory Marinakis, Melicia Sanchez and Priscilla Coronado and Team B consisted of Erica Guevara, Chen Chen and Mariah Campoy. Team A went on to win this year’s championship. This is NAU’s second state championship in a row, and third in four years.