In the Spotlight: Sept. 18, 2015

Kudos to these faculty, staff and students

Do you have a spotlight item to share with the NAU community?

E-mail your announcements to, or use our online submission form.

  • President Cheng and cohort
    NAU President Rita Cheng (center) poses with students from Chongquin University.

    NAU President Rita Cheng hosted the first cohort of students from NAU’s dual degree partnership with Chongquin University of Posts and Telecommunications in China. The fourteen students in the electrical engineering program spent over two weeks in Flagstaff observing classes.

  • Northern Arizona University earned multiple Emmy nominations from the Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences. Jerry Anderfuren, NAU-TV producer-videographer, received nine nominations for his work on promotional commercials for NAU. NAU School of Communication students received seven nominations in six categories on the student side. Emani Payne, Emily Rose Litvack, Tyler Miranda, Xavier Rangel, Holly Switay, David Pearson, Paula Jones, Ryan Massey, Chris Binning, Alex Carel, Harrison May, Lauren Jones, Taylor Gipe, Maeve Golden, Jonathan Becker, Trevor Anthony, Abraham Cuzner, Amber Fields and Mari Cleven were named in the nominations. The Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter is a member of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences, serving Arizona, New Mexico, Utah, Wyoming and El Centro, Calif. The 2015 Rocky Mountain Emmy Award winners will be announced Oct. 17 in Scottsdale.
  • Green Fund
    Ellen Vaughan (left) and Jessica Lazor (right) pose with their Arizona Forward awards.

    NAU’s Office of Sustainability and Green Fund were recognized for their sustainability efforts at Arizona Forward’s 35th Annual Environmental Excellence Awards in Phoenix. NAU received the award for Energy and Technology Innovation and the Governor’s Award for Arizona’s Future in recognition of its solar thermal hot air technology. In January, NAU became the first university to install a multi-panel solar thermal hot air system on campus.