In the Spotlight: May 17, 2019

Kudos to these faculty, staff and programs

Do you have a spotlight item to share with the NAU community?

E-mail your announcements to, or use our online submission form.

  • President Rita Cheng has been named to an NCAA working group that will consider legislation about the name, image and likeness rights of student-athletes. She is one of 19 members, including other university presidents, conference commissioners, athletics directors and student-athletes.
  • Campus dining director Ben Hartley was one of 2019’s Heroes of Everyday Life by the Sodexo Stop Hunger Foundation. He received a $5,000 award to be donated in his name, which went to Louie’s Cupboard.
  • ranked Northern Arizona University third out of almost 1,000 universities in a study assessing online colleges that offer the best financial aid opportunities to students. The rankings evaluated schools based on the net price of education, median debt of graduates, average aid award to students, the percent of students receiving institutional aid and financial aid by income level.
  • NAU’s Hotel and Restaurant Management program ranked No. 5 in’s list of best school to earn a bachelor’s degree in hospitality and culinary online. The rankings were based on tuition, student-faculty ratio and student services.
  • The Women’s and Gender Studies Program received the Outstanding Achievement & Contribution Organization Award on the Commission on the Status of Women. Several faculty from the program also received accolades:
    • Program faculty member Meredith Heller won the SBS Early Career Award.
    • Sanjam Ahluwalia won the coveted Axe in the Great Post-Apocalyptic Survival Debate. Ahluwalia persuasively argued that given the intersectional, interdisciplinary and transnational focus of WGS scholarship, this discipline would be well suited to shoulder the greatest responsibility of training the next generation of scientists, politicians, artists and scholars.
    • Tyler Barnard, WGS/ES administrative assistant, won the LGBTQ Commission Award.
NAU Communications