In the Spotlight: June 28, 2013

Kudos to these faculty, staff and students

Do you have a spotlight item to share with the NAU community?

E-mail your announcements to, or use our online submission form.

  • Karen Underhill, head of Special Collections and Archives at Cline Library, is a 2013 recipient of the Diversity Award given by the Society of American Archivists. The award recognizes an individual, group or institution for outstanding contributions in advancing diversity within the archives profession, the society or the archival record.

    Underhill was selected for her 20-year commitment toward helping African American, Hispanic American and Native American cultures of the Colorado Plateau capture, preserve and make accessible their histories for future generations. The society said Underhill’s “tireless advocacy, exceptional abilities to acquire funding and skillful project management have enriched the archival record with more than 200 oral history interviews from a wide range of cultural perspectives.” It also credited her leadership in drafting the Protocols for Native American Archival Materials for fostering discussion and increasing awareness on the topic.

    Underhill joins archives consultant Joan Krizack of Boston and the Asian/Pacific/American Institute at New York University as 2013 recipients of the Diversity Award, which are being presented at a ceremony during a joint meeting of the society and the Council of State Archivists at their annual meeting in New Orleans Aug. 11–17.

  • The National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying awarded $7,500 to NAU’s Department of Civil Engineering, Construction Management and Environmental Engineering, in recognition of the project “Paper Pulp Sludge Characteristics and Applications.” The award recognizes engineering programs that encourage collaboration between students and professional engineers. Students Amy Anderson, John Jowers, Daniel Hamill, Gabe Murray, Nathaniel Lail and Annalise O’Toole worked with faculty mentor Wilbert Odem to determine whether it is feasible for Cinder Lakes Landfill in Flagstaff to generate cost savings by using paper pulp sludge in new ways instead of burying it with incoming waste. The team’s research, testing and analysis projected the landfill could save more than $8 million on material costs alone.
  • Rebecca Campbell, associate professor of educational psychology and director for Academic Transition Programs, Margot Saltonstall, associate director for Enrollment Management and Student Affairs, and Betsy Buford, coordinator for Academic Transition Programs, recently published “The Scholarship of a Movement: A 24-Year Content Analysis of the Journal of The First-Year Experience and Students in Transition.” The study was published in the 25th anniversary issue of the journal and was followed by a national discussion via Twitter for the National Resource Center for the First-Year Experience and Students in Transition.
  • AGTS participants
    Participants in the AGTS Supervisor’s Academy pose for a group photo on campus.

    Twenty NAU employees recently participated in a 70-hour long supervisory academy conducted by Arizona Governmental Training Service. The intensive academy sessions are conducted one day a week for three months and cover subjects including team building, conflict resolution, interpersonal communication, performance management and best practices in hiring processes. The following employees completed the program:

    • Theresa Bierer, senior program coordinator for NAU-TV Services
    • Maureen Fray, senior program coordinator in the College of Engineering, Forestry and Natural Sciences
    • Mark Anthony Gallegos, painter for Facility Services
    • Juan Garcia, Jr., plumbing supervisor for Facility Services
    • Cheryl Goldberg, generalist for Human Resources
    • Bernadette Anne Gomez, coordinator for Extended Campuses
    • Brian Thomas Gorce, landscaping and grounds supervisor for Facility Services
    • Andrea Redcay Graves, senior program coordinator for educational support
    • Robyn Kay Guthrie, senior II computer operator for Information Technology Services
    • Roxane L. Jacobson, advising coordinator for Extended Campuses
    • Jonathan Patrick Koger, senior broadcast engineer for NAU-TV Services
    • Zoe K Nara Lonetti, administrative director for the College of Engineering, Forestry and Natural Sciences
    • Trey Mason, end-user computing specialist senior for Information Technology Services
    • Megan M. Miller, senior program coordinator for Financial Aid
    • Ralph S. Padilla, landscaping manager for Facility Services
    • Summer Steddom, system programming and support team lead for Information Technology Services
    • Hannaliisa Kaarina Savolainen, English lecturer
    • Megan Marie Tabor, coordinator for Admissions
    • Frank Solomon Valdovin, lead painter for Facility Services
    • Aaron Carl Weide, program coordinator for Extended Campuses