Historic victories for Lumberjack athletics

Trophies at the pool

Swim and Dive WAC Conference ChampionsNAU Athletics teams blew past the competition on their way to record-setting conference championship finishes.

With the fifth largest margin of victory in conference history, NAU swimming and diving dominated the field and clinched their third-straight Western Athletic Conference championship in Houston. Junior Alexa Geiger became the first Lumberjack diver since 2008 to receive the Diver of the Year award.

For the third year in a row, head coach Andy Johns was named the WAC Swim Coach of the Year. Diving coach Nikki Huffman also was named the WAC Diving Coach of the Year. Additional swim and dive victory highlights can be viewed online.

Men's Track and Field Big Sky Conference ChampionsContinuing the momentum, the NAU men’s track and field team secured its fifth consecutive indoor Big Sky Conference title in Bozeman, Mont., bringing the team’s total to 19 indoor team titles. The meet produced seven individual winners including Junior Futsum Zienasellassie, who earned, the Big Sky’s Most Valuable Athlete for the second year in a row. Lumberjack weight throws and shot put also swept the men’s competition for the sixth time in program history.

Director of track and field and cross country, Eric Heins, was named the 2016 Big Sky Men’s Indoor Coach of the Year for the fifth consecutive year. Read more about the track and field successes online.