Gov. Napolitano’s appointees to the Early Childhood Development and Health Board

  • Nadine Basha, an advocate for children throughout her career, was the driving force behind Proposition 203. She serves as chair of the Governor’s State School Readiness Board and is the former chair of the state Board of Education.


  • Rhian Evans Allvin brings to the board experience in philanthropy and child advocacy. She formerly served on the staff of the Arizona Community Foundation, where she helped manage the Arizona Early Education Funds.


  • Jack Jewett is senior vice president of public policy and a member of the senior leadership team for TMC Healthcare in Tucson. Jewett served on the Arizona Board of Regents from 1998 to 2006.


  • Vivian Juan-Saunders is the chairwoman of the Tohono O’odham Nation and is pursuing a doctoral degree in Educational Leadership.


  • Paul Luna is the president of the newly formed Helios Foundation. He was president of the Valley of the Sun United Way. He is a current member of the Governor’s School Readiness Board and P-20 Council.


  • Gary Pasquinelli is a businessman and the owner and president of Pasquinelli Produce Co. in Yuma.


  • Cecil B. Patterson is a retired judge with the Arizona Court of Appeals and Maricopa County Superior Court and currently practices law. He is also chair of the Arizona Juvenile Justice Commission.


  • Gene Thompson holds superintendent certification in six states and serves as an educational consultant in the United States, South America and Asia.