Furlough policy modified

The university has modified its original FY10 furlough policy to exempt those faculty and staff whose compensation is 90 percent or greater from sponsored project funds (other than TRIF).

Details of decision are outlined in a letter from President John Haeger, Provost Liz Grobsmith and Vice President for Research Laura Huenneke.

The university is awaiting further information about its FY10 budget and the availability of federal stimulus funds prior to deciding on the precise number of furlough days for NAU faculty and staff for the new fiscal year starting July 1.