Faculty Senate announces new officers

Bruce Fox

Faculty Senate officers have been elected for the 2015-16 academic year, with Bruce Fox serving as president and Kate Ellis as vice president and chair of the planning and budget council.

The Faculty Senate is the highest legislative assembly of faculty, with representatives from each college across campus. The senate operates under policies set by the Arizona Board of Regents.

Incoming Faculty Senate leadership outlined some priorities for the upcoming year including budget discussions, faculty evaluations and improving communication of issues among all faculty members. “We also want to make sure non-tenure track colleagues are treated with professionalism and are made to feel part of the life of the university,” Fox said.

Other officers include Past President Astrid KlockeSusan Harris as secretary, Eric Yordy as parliamentarian, Dan Eadens and Pam Foti as senators-at-large and Michael Rulon as chairman of the council on learning.

The Faculty Senate meeting calendar and policies are online.