Faculty honored at reception

2 faculty members

The accomplishments and contributions of faculty were recognized during the annual Faculty Awards ceremony in the High Country Conference Center April 14.

President John Haeger and Liz Grobsmith, provost and vice president for Academic Affairs, presented more than 60 awards, including faculty promotions, to those who have demonstrated excellence in their profession throughout the year.

Two faculty members were singled out to receive the President’s Award for Faculty and Academic Professionals for their exemplary contributions to the NAU mission in at least three categories: creativity in teaching, creative use of technology, advising, assessment, recruitment/retention, collaborative research, diversity and service.

Haeger presented President’s Awards to Miguel Vasquez, professor of anthropology, and Heidi Wayment, chair of psychology.

A number of other faculty members were honored at the reception, including the first Distinguished Teaching Fellows, six who were presented with their college’s Teacher of the Year Award, and those recognized for promotion and tenure status.

For a complete list of awards and promotions, click here.