Faculty celebrated with awards, recognition

Faculty known for their commitment to students and the university received awards during a ceremony at the High Country Conference Center on April 11.

Linda Shadiow
Linda Shadiow

Linda Shadiow, professor of educational leadership for the College of Education, received the President’s Award for Faculty and Academic Professionals from NAU President John Haeger.

Shadiow was singled out to receive the award for her exemplary contributions to the NAU mission in at least three categories: creativity in teaching, creative use of technology, advising, assessment, recruitment/retention, collaborative research, diversity and service.

Haeger and Liz Grobsmith, provost and vice president for Academic Affairs, presented more than 60 awards, including faculty promotions, to those who demonstrate excellence in their profession throughout the year.

Among them were six faculty members who were presented with the Teacher of the Year Award from their colleges, and others were recognized for promotion and tenure status.

Faculty Awards 2012

President’s Award

  • Linda Shadiow, Professor, Educational Leadership, College of Education

Regents’ Professors

  • Paul Beier, Conservation Biology and Wildlife Ecology
  • Edith Copley, Music
  • Darrell Kaufman, Geology and Environmental Science

College Teachers of the Year

Peter Kosso
Peter Kosso
Professor, Philosophy
College of Arts and Letters

Gae Johnson
Gae Johnson
Professor, Teaching and Learning
College of Education

Jani Ingram
Jani Ingram
Associate Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry
College of Engineering, Forestry and Natural Science

Betty Brown
Betty Brown
Assistant Professor, Health Sciences
College of Health and Human Services

Patricia Murphey
Patricia Murphey
Assistant Professor, School of Communication
College of Social and Behavioral Sciences

David Albritton
David Albritton
Associate Professor, Management
The W.A. Franke College of Business

Provost’s Award for Faculty Excellence in Global Learning

  • Sandra Stone, Professor, College of Education
  • Robert Neustadt, Professor, College of Arts and Letters

Provost’s Award for Faculty Departmental Excellence in Global Learning

  • Electronic Media and Film, School of Communication, College of Social and Behavioral Sciences

Outstanding Faculty Advisor Award

  • Marie Baker-Ohler, School of Communication, College of Social and Behavioral Science

Promotion and Tenure


  • Larry Gallagher, Educational Specialties


  • Janna Jones, School of Communication
  • Joyce DeVoss  , Educational Psychology
  • Yeon-Su Kim, School of Forestry
  • Nadine Barlow, Physics and Astronomy
  • Bridget Bero, Civil Engineering, Construction Management and Environmental Engineering
  • Scott Reese, History
  • Zsuzsanna Gulácsi, Comparative Cultural Studies
  • Alexandra Carpino, Comparative Cultural Studies
  • Jeff Berglund, English, Ethnic Studies and Applied Indigenous Studies
  • Kathleen McGeever, Theater

Associate Professor with Tenure

  • Jonathan Bergeron, School of Music
  • Angelina E. Castagno, Educational Leadership
  • Ding Du, The W.A. Franke College of Business
  • Andrew W. Gardner, Psychology
  • Shannon Guerrero, Mathematics and Statistics
  • Mariella Espinoza-Herold, Educational Specialties
  • Joshua Hewes, Civil Engineering, Construction Management and Environmental Engineering
  • Ryan W. Holder, School of Music
  • Sheryl Howard, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
  • Ching-Hsun Huang, School of Forestry
  • Stephanie Hurst, Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Allison Kipple, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
  • Emily McKay, School of Music
  • Heather E. Martel, History, Women’s and Gender Studies
  • James Palmer, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
  • Sandra Raymond, English
  • George V. Speer, Comparative Cultural Studies
  • Susan Lee Stutler, NAU-Yuma
  • Fred Summerfelt, Dental Hygiene
  • Kristen Waring, School of Forestry
  • Meghan Warren, Physical Therapy and Athletic Training
  • Jason Wilder, Biological Sciences
  • Gerald Wood, Educational Leadership
  • Linda Sargent Wood, History
  • C. Chad Woodruff, Psychology

Associate Clinical Professor

  • Charles Balch, NAU-Yuma
  • Laura J. Blank, School of Nursing
  • David Parmenter, NAU-Yuma

Principal Lecturer

  • Judy Montoya, Geography, Planning and Recreation
  • Jeffrey Rushall, Mathematics and Statistics
  • Catherine “Katie” Louchart, Mathematics & Statistics
  • Nancy Sullivan, School of Music

Senior Lecturer

  • Marie Baker-Ohler, School of Communication
  • Matthew Fahy, Mathematics and Statistics
  • Matthew Haertzen, The W.A. Franke College of Business
  • K. Charlie Hicks, School of Communication
  • Monika Keindl, Mathematics and Statistics
  • Alexander Lapins, School of Music
  • Jennifer Russell, School of Music

Emeritus Appointments

  • Suzanne Bratcher, Professor, English
  • Christine Lynn, Professor, School of Hotel and Restaurant Management
  • Garry Taylor, Associate Professor, Teaching and Learning
  • David Williams, Professor, Educational Leadership

In Memoriam