Nominations open for President’s Diversity Awards

The Center for Inclusive Excellence and Access and the university’s five diversity commissions have opened nominations for the President’s Diversity Awards. The President’s Diversity Awards recognize outstanding service to the NAU community that furthers the mission of each commission. There are various awards for faculty, staff, students, departments, organizations and community members. The nomination deadline for all commission awards is Friday, Feb. 16. To find out more information or nominate someone for one of the diversity awards, visit the Center for Inclusive Excellence and Access’ website.  

The awards are:  

Commission for Indigenous Peoples 

  • The Cal Seciwa Award recognizes demonstrated distinguished service to the Native American community.  Make a nomination.

Commission on Disability Access and Design 

  • The CDAD Leadership Award recognizes outstanding contributions to the disability community at NAU.  Make a nomination.

Commission on Ethnic Diversity (Deadline Jan. 29)

  • The President’s Award for Ethnic Diversity recognizes outstanding contributions to the enhancement of ethnic diversity at NAU. Make a nomination. 

Commission on the Status of Women

  • The CSW Outstanding Achievement and Contribution Award recognizes outstanding contributions to women’s leadership development and the advancement of the status of women at NAU.  Make a nomination.

LGBTQIA Commission  

  • The Distinguished Service to the LGBTQIA Community Award is given to those who have demonstrated distinguished service to the LGBTQIA community.  Make a nomination.
  • The Ally of the Year Award is given to a Flagstaff community member who has served as an outstanding ally to the NAU LGBTQIA community. Make a nomination.


NAU Communications