Committee to preserve the history of Northern Arizona University

Old Main

With an eye toward the upcoming Arizona statehood centennial in 2012, a new committee is working to capture and share the story of the university’s contributions to higher education.

Led by NAU President emeritus and professor of mathematics emeritus Eugene Hughes and Regents’ Professor emeritus Monte Poen, the committee will work closely with Cline Library to collect, preserve and make available on-site and online photographs, records and oral histories that document the evolution of Northern Arizona University.

Committee members also include NAU President John HaegerCharles Connell, chair of the History Department; Robert Crozier, retired director for Alumni Relations and the NAU Foundation; Neil Goodell, director for Alumni Relations; Paul Neuman, former longtime director of Television Services and vice president for Information Technology at Arizona Western College; Philip Rulon, emeritus professor of history; Fred Stevens, retired director for Alumni Relations; Michael Vincent, dean for the College of Arts and Letters; Jim Babbitt, president of Babbitt’s Backcountry Outfitters; and Karen Underhill, coordinator, Cline Library.

Information is online, or email