NAU Athletics named annual Big Sky Presidents’ Cup winner

President's Cup graphic

For the fourth time in university history, NAU won the Big Sky Conference 2020-21 Presidents’ Cup, becoming the third institution to win the award four or more times.

The win is the Lumberjacks’ first Presidents’ Cup since winning it in back-to-back seasons in 2012-13 and 2013-14. It ties Eastern Washington for second-most in the award’s 19-year history.

Coupled with NAU’s sweep of the 2020-21 Big Sky All-Sport Trophies, this year marks the second instance that a school claimed the Men’s and Women’s All-Sport Trophies and the Presidents’ Cup in one competition year. NAU was also the first, doing so in 2013-14.

“We are so proud of the academic and athletic excellence displayed by NAU student-athletes,” said Vice President for Intercollegiate Athletics Mike Marlow. “Prior to the 2020-21 academic year, our student-athletes, coaches and staff embraced the goal of becoming stronger as a result of the perseverance required to face the unique challenges last year presented. The Presidents’ Cup is a strong indication that they did indeed accomplish their goals.”

The Presidents’ Cup promotes the Big Sky’s commitment to academics and recognizes a member school’s overall success in the classroom and athletic competition. It is given annually to the school that excels both academically and athletically.

In the classroom, the Lumberjacks received the highest APR ranking this year with a single-year rate of 990. In addition, every single Big Sky-sponsored program in the department had a team GPA of 3.0 or better for the 2020-21 academic year, allowing

NAU to edge out Idaho by one point in the final Presidents’ Cup rankings, while Montana State and Weber State came in four points behind for third place.

NAU Communications