Awards to be presented for research and creative activity

Seven Northern Arizona University faculty and students will be honored at the Research and Creative Activity Innovation Awards presentation and reception.

The event is being held 4:30-6 p.m. Tuesday, April 26, at the High Country Conference Center in the Agassiz/Fremont Room.

The awards are presented in recognition of the research, scholarly and artistic achievements of NAU faculty and students, and the entrepreneurial spirit and creativity of NAU innovations.

The 2016 awardees are:

  • Nicholas McKay, assistant professor, School of Earth Sciences and Environmental Sustainability: Most Promising New Scholar
  • Michael Mommert, postdoctoral scholar, Department of Physics and Astronomy: Most Promising Postdoctoral Researcher/Scholar
  • Romy Ghanem, graduate student, Department of English: Most Promising Graduate Student Researcher/Scholar
  • Dave Wagner, associate professor, Department of Biological Sciences: Research Mentorship Award (tie)
  • Chun-Hsing Jun Ho, assistant professor, Department of Civil Engineering, Construction Management and Environmental Engineering: Research Mentorship Award (tie)
  • Kees Jan van Groenigen, assistant research professor, Center for Ecosystem Science and Society: Most Significant Research/Scholarly Work forĀ Faster Decomposition Under Increased Atmospheric CO2 Limits Soil Carbon Storage
  • Bruce Reiprich, professor, School of Music, Most Significant Artistic/Creative Work forĀ “Flowing Waters Caress Fallen Petal” and “Lambent” music compositions