2023 Research and Creative Awards

Most Promising New Research Scholar

Charn McAllister, The W.A. Franke College of Business. McAllister’s research has produced impactful insights into understanding organizational practices that influence employee well-being.

Most Promising New Artistic or Creative Scholar

Del Zartner, School of Art. Zartner’s sculptures and drawings have been exhibited in numerous wide-ranging venues both locally and beyond.

Most Promising Graduate Student Research Scholar

Kevin Hirschi. Hirschi studies the process of language learning in the applied linguistics Ph.D. program.

Graduate Research Mentorship Award

Laura Noll, Department of Psychological Sciences. Noll works with master’s students in psychological sciences and doctoral students in our interdisciplinary health program.

Graduate Artistic or Creative Work Mentorship Award

Sherwin Bitsui. Bitsui mentors students in creative writing as a member of the Department of English.

Most Significant Artistic/Creative Work

Nicole Walker, Department of English. In recent years she has published three powerful essays in The New York Times, books entitled Sustainability: A Love Story and Processed Meats: Essays on Food, Flesh and Navigating Disaster and numerous other works.

Most Significant Research/Scholarly Work

Maiah Jaskoski, Department of Politics and International Affairs. Jaskoski’s book, The Politics of Extraction: Territorial Rights, Participatory Institutions and Conflict in Latin America, was published this year.

Undergraduate Research Mentorship Award

Naomi Lee, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry. Lee does impactful health-related research that engages a large number of students.

Undergraduate Artistic or Creative Work Mentorship Award

Kyoungmee (Kate) Byun, School of Art. Byun was recognized for her mentorship of students in the interior design program.

Most Impactful Community-engaged Research, Scholarship, or Creative Activity

  • Debra Edgerton, School of Art, for her exhibition “Things Not Seen” exhibited at the Murdoch Community Center in association with the Southside Community Association.
  • Jani Ingram, the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, for her many research projects conducted in partnership with tribal communities that explore the causes of health disparities.


NAU Communications