The University Assessment Committee and the Office of Academic Assessment have awarded the fourth annual round of recognitions for faculty efforts with assessing student learning. The recognitions are dubbed the Seal of Assessment Achievement and the Seal of Assessment Excellence, and together reflect two successive levels of accomplishment with degree-program assessment.

The Seal of Achievement recognizes departments and programs that have collected and discussed assessment data, while the Seal of Excellence singles out those that use that data for curricular revisions or highlighting student successes.

The Assessment Committee was established by the Faculty Senate in 2002. It is an elected body comprising faculty and professional staff from throughout the university. NAU’s Seal recognition process has received national attention and was partly the reason NAU received the 2009 Council for Higher Education Association Award for Progress in Outcomes Assessment.

Seal of Assessment Excellence

Seal of Assessment excellence logo
Finance BSBA Finance
Nursing BSN Nursing
Psychology BA/BS Psychology
Sociology and Social Work BSW Social Work
Seal of Assessment Achievement

Seal of Assessment Achievement logo
School of  Communication BS Electronic Media and Film
Computer Information Systems BSBA Computer Information Systems
Economics BSBA Business Economics
Forestry BS/MS/MF/PhD Forestry
Dental Hygiene BSDH Extended
Health Sciences BS Community Health; BSED Physical Ed. & School Health
Marketing BSBA Marketing
Modern Languages BA/BS Spanish; MAT Spanish
Physics & Astronomy BS Physics

University Assessment Committee

University Assessment Committee from left: Karen Pugliesi, Bruce Fox, Joe Anderson, Laura Crouch, Robert Till, Yuly Asencion-Delaney, Chris Lockwood, Sue Pieper (below), Melinda Treml (above), Terry Baxter, Dierdra Bycura, Niranjan Venkatraman, Kathy Hildebrand, Jim Leve, Mike Merica. Not pictured: Gerald Wood, Krista Rodin, Amy Hughes, Chih-Hsiung Tu, Rebecca Maniglia, Patrick Deegan, Peter Mangan (Yuma).